Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
postpossum

Spooling time! Picking line for a surfcasting overhead..

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

Hi brains trust! Was hoping to get some advice on line for a conventional reel.

Belated xmas arrived today- 1 x Saltiga Surf 30, 1 x Saltiga Surf 5000 to mate to twin fast action Osprey 12" (one spinning, one conventional) rods I bought around 10 years ago, and recently had overhauled with Fuji alconite guide upgrades biggrin.gif

It's coming down to line choice now- on previous reels (spinning) I've been using and am quite happy with the yellow Tufline XP 30lb braid. Was most probably going to go with the same for the 5000, with some mono backing, but so far I'm a bit stumped re spooling the 30.

I'm not experienced enough to categorically rule out ever having a major overrun in the future, so am wondering if light braid is an option.

I'm guessing the sensible thing is 240yds of 25lb, or 200yds of 30lb mono (any recommendations? Researching, it seems Ande's the way to go, but it's not the most readily available mono here).

I like the sensitivity and zero stretch of braid, but laying thin line without a level wind would be a bit of a pain. Also, I'm thinking about the possibility of line cutting back into itself and causing a breakoff.

Is it a feasible option to use heavy braid e.g. 65lb-70lb (considering it's still thinner than 25lbmono)?

Ideal test for the conditions here would be an abrasion resistant 30lb- to handle the numerous rays and sharks which get there before a fish does.

Casting rig would either be a gar on ganged hooks or a live herring or yakka (not sure what they're called in the States, but it's slightly larger than a herring) with a 5 or 6 sinker.

Any advice is much appreciated, thanks!!

View PostHi

Is it a feasible option to use heavy braid e.g. 65lb-70lb (considering it's still thinner than 25lbmono)?