Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
GoIslanders

TOTAL newbie questions

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

OK, I am going to "convert" this season and try fly fishing. My good friend and doctor and I are going to the NJ Fly fishing Show next week. I am going to be looking for some beginner stuff. smile.gif

I think I am going to look for a 4/5 wt. trout rod as a 1st rod, and maybe a 8/9 wt. if I can find a good deal (My friend does mostly saltwater, but I am sure will do some teaching in a stream-that's why I may be looking for both).

What I want to know is:

1. Why does fly fishing equipment seem to cost so damn much??? I kind of get it on the rods, as they need to have a much more intricate action, etc., but the reels are mechanically much simpler than conventionals and spinning reels of the same price range. Seems counterintuitive. headscratch.gif

2. What brands should I be thinking about and researching before I get there so I don't look like a boob?

3. How much $$$ should I be looking to spend (without my wife wanting to murder me. wink.gif )?

Thanks for any input.

Mike

I am a newbie myself to fly fishing. I am so new to this that I havent even casted a fly rod yet LOL. However about 2-3 weeks of doing reserach I finally have a set up now ready to go for the Spring.

The rod I have a Sage Fli 9wt 9' rod and a Colton Torrent 810 reel. So far I have spent about $550 and am already thinking about buying a vise to tie flies. Let me warn you now this sport is verrrrrrrrrrry addicting LOLLL.

From my research I have seen a lot of good reviews on the Colton products. All of the Colton products are on sale right now too. You can contact the owner Bob and ask him any questions you have. His user namer on here is Foulhook. He is a great guy and can help you answer any other questions you have about his products.

Hopefully others will chime in and tell you more as far as other brands to look at.

Outfitting a Newbie