Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DeepWater

Help on Fuji Concept spacing on 10' or 11' surf rod

Rate this topic

17 posts in this topic

Hey all,

I am new to this field, and wish get some help to start. I am going to build a 10 footer or 11 footer on a Lamiglas surf blank. I wonder where I can get the Fuji new concept guide spacing chart or information for the 10' or 11' surf rod? Is there a formula to calculate or a chart to follow?

Thanks!

You might be able to find some sort of generic NGC spacing chart but, in my opinion, any such chart is absolutely worthless. Your blank's unique properties, your reel, line, and other factors determine what guides and where they should go. Building a rod new guide concept is about working through a process and making it work for you, not following a spacing chart. There is plenty of material written here about determining guide type, size, and position - just use the search feature - or you can google Tom Kirkman who has written extensively about his methods.

Reading up on the basics and starting to play around with different layouts is the best advice anyone can give you. As always, there are a whole mess of very experienced and cutting-edge rodbuilders around here to help you out with any specific problems or questions that might arise.