Paintball help needed

Rate this topic

Jason B

Gents,

Needs some help. I'm a biology teacher and I had couple of students complete a science fair experiment using paintball guns. I was somewhat encouraged to have the kids work somewhat outside the bacteria/plant growth box. Unfortunately, I have no experience with paintball guns, so I need some help. The students used different barrel lengths to test for accuracy. Obviously the longer the barrel, the greater the accuracy, but their data seems a little too good. Can a paintball gun with a 9 inch barrel shoot 10 shots with a 3 inch spread from 30 feet? Sounds a little too good to me. I want to give the kids the betterment of the doubt but I don't want to be snowed when other kids worked their tails off. So bottom-line, how accurate are these things? What kind of spread, single shot from 30' should I expect? Their data is looking like something they threw together during lunch in the computer lab.

Any help is appreciated.

(not sure where this thread fits, so I will try here first)

"It's the weekend, I don't know you, you don't exist to me." The Hangover

Wow..that's tough man.

I would have to guess the gun itself is going to be a factor though. How clean was it, how good was the person shooting it, or was it set up on a bench and held in place?

I think some are pretty darn accurate though at 30'. That's not too far for some of these newer guns. 3 inch spread is pretty tight though. I would guess you'd have to bench it for that kinda of grouping wouldn't you? Or be a damn good shot?

"The toothless, braindead, *********, geriatric mouthbreathers around here love their "safe space". It is the only place in the world where they feel like winners, the gracious thing to do, would be to let them enjoy their delusional reality."

-Numbnuts

Weather factors in also..

Was it inside or outside?

If it was cold, the balls would have been harder, therefore more accurate.