Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
labrador 1

Plugs - why are they the way they are?

Rate this topic

29 posts in this topic

I've been playing with building a couple plugs and started wondering about plug shape - particularly wood plugs. I guess I am wondering if they are always round because that is the fastest way to produce them, or if they are round because of some functional reason. Seems to me most baitfish are oval - at least to some degree. Just wondering if anyone has built any wood plugs that vary from the traditional shapes. I'm thinking of putting together a pikie - type plug only very oval in shape. If it looks and swims good I'll post a picture.

You might get a better response to your question in the How To forum under lure building.

I am a novice at it but I'll venture a guess.....an oval shaped plug will float on its' side without enough weight from the hooks on the bottom side. With round, the hooks are probably enough.

You will no doubt have to counter weigh it to float correctly.

[This message has been edited by JayrR (edited 02-28-2003).]

[This message has been edited by JayrR (edited 02-28-2003).]

JayrR - I had the same thought, but figured adding a little weight wouldn't be too complicated - but since I've never done it, I shouldn't say.

I thought about posting in the plug forum, but figured I'd start here since some may have fished with oval shaped wood - even though they didn't build em.

lab, I've thought of it myself, though as you mentioned that only happens with the woodies. The hard plastic baits are more realistic in their shape. the reason wood plugs are round is easy of making them symetrical, since most are turned on lathes.

I have made a few, more fish shaped, but it takes a bit more work and the benefit is questionable. I would guess that any predator approaching a bait from below or down and to the side is going to see a larger profile when looking at a round plug with the same max diameter as an oval shaped on.