Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DDRRedneck500

Carp question(s)

13 posts in this topic

well, i've been fishing a body of water for a couple years now and have had great success with bluegill, bass, crappie, and catfish, though i've never tried going for carp before. however i know for a fact that there are LOTS of BIG carp in this reservoir. and that knowledge comes from an observation of mine that i have never seen in any other body of water. starting around an hour before sunset from spring through early fall, the carp start to jump. now not just a little splash on the surface, but carp actually launching their bodies almost completely out of the water. i've heard about on the mississippi carp doing this when a motot boat drives by, but the carp here are doing it apparently unprovoked. every couple minutes or so we just here what sounds like a kid jumping in the water, and sometimes we look over in time to see 20-40 pound carp jumping out of the water.

Any idea WHY they are doing this??? yes i know many fish when feeding on the surface can make quite a bit of commotion... but CARP? i've never even heard of them hitting the surface for food. normally they are bottom feeders..

and question number 2: if iam going to target these fish, would when they are behaving like this be the best time to target them? or might this activity be spurred on by some other factor than hunger making this time less than optimal? if so when should i target them?

thanks for any info.

I don't exactly know why those fish do that but I do know that they are difficult to catch the ones that jump and the skittish ones that run and those just cruising the shore are nearly impossible to get. Look for carp that are feeding with there noses down to the bottom. These are feeding and are fairly easy to catch. In most cases you won't be able to see them any way but don't waste your time on the jumping ones they are not going to be easy