Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
emaxxman

Summer trout fishing...is it done?

8 posts in this topic

I spent 5 hours this morning fishing the Pequest (by the Hatchery) as well as a few other times at Stephen's State Park recently. Each time came back with only a few bites but no fish. I've also noticed that I'm usually the only one out fishing.

Since this is my first year trout fishing, I'm not sure what the patterns are. Is trout fishing basically done for the year? Have the trout fishermen just moved on to other fish?

Does it pick up in October when they're supposed to stock again?

Trout go very deep this time of year in the deepest pools they can find. There is resident stocked trout that live year round even though most peopl think they die they don't. Just hide deep where nobody see's them. In fact this is when the largest trout are caught try dragging a nightcrawler along the bottom with some split shot fish the deep pools and if there there you might be able to get them. This time last year I caught the biggest Brookie of my life in a small stream that ran into a lake. I caught it deep in a pool on a 1/8 ounce white roostertail.

I've been using 1/8 Rooster Tails too. I actually hooked one mid-week but it shook me off as it got close. I fished the Pequest in spots that were almost waist deep. The Musconetcong is really shallow (at least today it was).

What about fishing for trout in lakes/reservoirs? Do they come up shallow in the evening/night?

View PostI've been using 1/8 Rooster Tails too. I actually hooked one mid-week but it shook me off as it got close. I fished the Pequest in spots that were almost waist deep. The Musconetcong is really shallow (at least today it was).

What about fishing for trout in lakes/reservoirs? Do they come up shallow in the evening/night?