Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Valkyrie

New Lamiglas Spine ?

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

I bought an Inshore Classic casting rod, 8'. Very nice but I noticed a slight curve at the top 18" or so. basically 90^ to the guides, the spine seems to be this rientation also.

I have read tons on the whole spine debate and does this really matter enough for me to send the rod back. The bend is very slight, maybe 3/8" over the last 18"-20", I dont care as long as it catches fish and casts well. I am pairing it with a Calcutta 400.

TIA

The spine rarely if ever runs in the same plane as the natural curve in the blank. It often is at 90 degrees. Most factory rods take no account of the spine at all or the line of best fit. I can't say for Lami. It maybe actually built to the spine as you describe it. Nearly all rods have a curve in the tip. As a rod builder myself I have to deal with this situation on a regular basis. I can make the rod look straighter by how I place the guides relative to the curve or I can build to the spine and have the rod look not straight. Technically a rod with a 3/8 over the distance you describe is not bad at all. If I sent back blanks for that amount of devitaion from straight I would hardly ever get anything to build on. You might want to post on the rod building forum and get more views. I would just fish this rod and forget. Next time you buy make a point of eye balling down the blank and if the shape of the rod offends you put it back in the rack.

We build on spine or line of best fit. Some like one over the other. Both work out ok in the field.

Mike