Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
flies-n-plugs

VEGA Headache!!!!

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

Thanks to all that have helped with my vega issues so far, but this thing has me pulling my hair out. Right now, I have a master blank in the holders, and have the vega on the back side of the lathe with the tool facing down. I have tried adjusting the cutter from level with the centers, to slightly below center ( above center on the back side of the lathe), and it still looks like I took a beaver to my blanks! mad.gif I have been cutting/feeding slowly at high rpm (3600), but still have very fine chips coming off the cutter-I even tried to touch up the cutter (def. sharper than it was!) Any advice would be appreciated.

I have mine mounted on the front of my JET and had trouble with it also. I adjusted it a few times before I got it right. i have the cutting tip a hair over the centers, and had to measure the distance of the mount a few times before I got it right and it did look like a beaver hit it with a chipped tooth ! BUT i got it right and I have had small problems with the vega and screws getting worn out as the chain passes. I eliminated this with a sleeve that moves under the chain. Now the only headach I have is that I can work faster and have to do more lures ! Could be your allignmentor the height adjustment seems like you have too much of an angle and its cutting out the ti shape instead of the point. you might have to raise or lower the mounts

try a new cutter i had a freind sharpen his and he thought it was sharp but he did not shrpen it correctly i brought over an extra new cutter did not adjust anything and it was cutting ribbons on ayc.

mine is on the front and just below center never a problem.

probably a cutter issue but hard to say not being there. Maybe too small of a radius, maybe none at all, on tip possibly.