Bait Prices

Rate this topic

Daddykinz

View PostHi all, I'm new to surf fishing. It's late June 2009. What is a fair price for frozen clams and sea worms. Any price is fine for me when I am desperate to get out there. I'm just curious to know if I'm getting soaked before I get to the water.

If someone sells you frozen clams you are getting soaked. Fresh clams are easily available now and prices range from around $5 to $10 a dozen. When buying clams, make sure they are alive and fresh. If they have a strong smell (stink) to them or don't close up when tapped you probably don't want to fish with them.

NOBODY here has a pass to blow out someone else's candle in order to make theirs shine brighter. TLDig[

View PostIf someone sells you frozen clams you are getting soaked. Fresh clams are easily available now and prices range from around $5 to $10 a dozen. When buying clams, make sure they are alive and fresh. If they have a strong smell (stink) to them or don't close up when tapped you probably don't want to fish with them.

This has me curious now.

Harbor Bait in Pocasett, MA sells quarts of Sea Clams, heavily salted. He told me these are the best way to buy clams? Is this not true? I think I bought them not frozen, but I could be wrong on that.

Maybe this is why I never catch crap on them?

"The toothless, braindead, *********, geriatric mouthbreathers around here love their "safe space". It is the only place in the world where they feel like winners, the gracious thing to do, would be to let them enjoy their delusional reality."

-Numbnuts

What would be the deal with digging clams in the sand for bait with a shellfish permit in MA? Is that illegal? I guess it would be huh?

Are quahogs good as bait? I can get those by the millions in my area.