Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
lumo

Top Water Tuna Blank Recommendation?

Rate this topic

4 posts in this topic

The intended reel would be a Stella 18000 SW, 65 pound braid, 2-4 ounce top water lures (spooks and poppers) 100#-130# bluefin tuna, would like it to cast far, but still have the back bone needed. A little length would be nice for maneuvering around the boat, 7-7.5 ft. maybe?

One off the shelf rod that came highly recommended was a 7 ft. Van Staal jigging stick rated 50# to 100#, and 325 gram lures. Anyone know about the blanks they are using?

Anyway this would be a gift for a charter captain that happens to be a very generous friend, one who introduced me to this type of fishing yeterday, and unfortunately we were undergunned. An hour and 45 minutes of carefully battling an approx. 130# fish, then 50 minutes on a 150#, and finally 5 minutes on a 200# plus left me feeling like building a more appropriate arsenal. I have zero experience with boat rods so any and all help would be appreciated.

Thanks

PRoblem with the fishing up there is you're going to have to make a compromise one way or another - most rods that will cast 2-4oz efectively will not be able to fish with 30#'s of drag, and rods that can be fished with 30#'s of drag will not toss 2-4oz lures.

REgarding the VS/Cosmotech 50-100#, I've built on the 40-80# rod and that one will not cast 2oz very well at all, I'm going to assume the 50-100# blank will be even worse.

The blanks Seeker is making for me should be perfect for this type of fishing. IT's a COmposite graphite/glass which has a light enough tip to fire out 2-4oz with a big spinner, but enough backbone to not bottom out when fishing 25#'s of drag. The blank is 7'4". I just shipped one to someone in CT who builds a lot of these rods, and had another person here yesterday who spent some time bending it.