Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
mmmmmBass

Rod Suggestion (St Croix??)

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

Looking for a rod under $150. 10'-11'. I currently have a 9' tica dolphin that i use for the north shore and need something bigger for the south shore. I will be primarily pluggin, no bait. I use a cheapo 11' Penn Pursuit for bait. I am looking at the St. Croix Triumph and Premier (not sure what the difference is; does one cast further? The Premier is an ounce and a half heavier). Also, while I'm at it, what is the best braided line brand and size to use? I have been using power pro for a few yrs and seems fine, but I know they are always coming out with new braid. I appreciate any guidance. Thanks.

lots of people here use power pro without problems, some use it complain about persistent wind knots. others use sufix, which is a bit more expensive, but is a quality line. i bought some sufix a few months ago that was on sale and then used the rebate on sufix's website, so i got it for the same price as power pro. check the sufix website for a rebate offer, i think they are doing it until september.

St. Croix Premier is US Made, comes in 1/2 sizes ("ie 8 1/2 ft", not a big fan of 1/2 sizes) better tip top and guides then the Triumph and the blank is woven above the handle.

St. Croix Triumph is made in China or overseas somewhere (I think) nice blank (looks/feels the same as the premier without the weave), the guides are not so hot but for the price and St Croix service/warranty you cant beat it.

I have the St. Croix Triumph 10' Surf rod. I am very happy with mine. Picked it up last year. Can't beat the price for what you get.