Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Dave 1957

Newbie,question

Rate this topic

12 posts in this topic

Hi guys,just found this site last week and this is my first post.

I make my own lures for Pike and and Bass,which in the UK a 10 pounder is a big Bass, unlike your Stripers.

Looking at some of the exellent home made lures i noticed that the wire passes right through the lure.How do you do this.

Do you drill the lure or make it in two halfs and glue it around the wire before shaping.?

I am using screw in eyes for my hooks at the moment and they are a bit big and i don,t really trust them.

Any advice would be much appreciated..Thanks

I'm new to building too. My lathe doesn't allow me the capability to through drill on it, so I clamp the piece to my desk (if it's cold or rainy out), or my workbench. I use a cloth between the surface and the plug as not to mar it up. I then just through drill using my cordless drill and various size bits starting with a 1/8" brad point bit. I've lost a few, but am getting much better at it. I drill with regular sized bits (6"?) from each end, then join the two with a longer 12" bit. Then just drill out for the belly hook or hooks, and the weights as needed. Not fool proof by any stretch, and certainly is slow, but if on a tight budget it works. Besides, I'm not manufaturing for sale, just personal use and the occasional thank you gift or whatever.

Go Black Cats! Glad they stayed up.

Cheers

View PostHi guys,just found this site last week and this is my first post.

I make my own lures for Pike and and Bass,which in the UK a 10 pounder is a big Bass, unlike your Stripers.

Looking at some of the exellent home made lures i noticed that the wire passes right through the lure.How do you do this.

Do you drill the lure or make it in two halfs and glue it around the wire before shaping.?

I am using screw in eyes for my hooks at the moment and they are a bit big and i don,t really trust them.