Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
DDRRedneck500

how to weight a spook

Rate this topic

9 posts in this topic

well, im pretty new to plug building, and i've gotten down a few styles of lures pretty well. so i want to move on to more styles now. im planning to try my hand now at a couple spooks, but first i wanted to ask you guys here, where do you place the weights, and about how much weight would you put in relative to the size of the lure.

thanks for any input.

-Ryan

This may sound like I'm busting your B's, but I'm not...It depends on what you want it to do and, what I've discovered lately, what kind of wood you're using.

If it's a "walk the dog" action a tail weight alone MAY make it work, but a bit more weight somewhere between the tail and the belly hook is in order...that's where the type of wood comes into play. For you and anyone else that makes these VERY EFFECTIVE plugs, just do some experimenting with that second weight with each type of wood that you're using. Here is my example...AWC vs. AYC vs. ERC...AWC is a bit lighter and ERC a bit heavier than AYC ("heavier" may not be the correct word...maybe more like density)...I weight it 1/2 of the weight hole farther forward than with AYC and 1/2 a hole farther back with ERC....AND I adjust the AMOUNT of weight to make the plug do what I want it to. If it's just straight motion forget the bull crap and just tail weight it...guess what...it'll still catch fishcwm27.gif