Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BigBadBass

Battery Dead or Alive?

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Ok, took my boat out today and realized when I got to the marina that I left the key in the on position last week. Well I guess you can figure out I was completely dead. So I took the boat home and hooked up a battery charger/tester to it and it is showing that it has 11.7v at less than 20% battery life.

I'm not too good with what a battery is supposed to be but shouldn't it read out on the tester 12v or more? Is this something that will rise when the battery charges?

Another thing,, I got a jumpstart at the marina while I was there and it started no problem off a good battery. I sat in the marina revving up the engine steady for half an hour. I turned it off to see if it would start again before I head out in the bay and it was completely stone dead. Could that be the battery being that dead? Or is it not holding a charge for some reason?

When I got home I took the battery out of my other boat and it started right up. Any help would be great,, I'm not too up on the battery/electronics of my boat.

sounds like the battery is dead or almost dead and not holding the charge. Once the boat is started and running it does not use the battery it runs off the alternator. I would think it should have charged in the half hour that you had it running at the dock if it was not dead. Ide try a slow charge overnight and see if that works if not have it load tested at an auto supply shop like pep boys or auto zone they all have load testers.

Age of battery could be a factor, not knowing age I woiuld say you have a dead cell or a weak one, that is why it will not hold a charge. I would replace it. Once you discharge a battery, it may never be reliable again. If you have only one battery in the boat, no way I would trust it. How are you terminals and wires?