Sandy Hook Help

Rate this topic

peter3962

Hey guys, i want to go fishing from the shore at sandy hook during memorial day weekend. Im a beginner and still havent really surf fished yet so this will be my first serious time. I have some lures: plugs, dannies, some poppers, metals, and a few bucktail. Can you guys help me with what lures would work best and what size and colors to use. Also i want to fish bait with my 12' rod so what rigs should i use and what bait. And are there any GENERAL spots in sandy hook that are productive that you guys can tell me? Thanks

For a beginner I would bring with me metal lures and some small and medium size poppers. For bait, I would bring fresh bunker and some clams... use FF rig...

For the most productive spots in SH...you can try the bay side and if it does not work out move to the ocean side..Good luck..

you can park in any lot and find fish in most cases. generally there isnt any lot that is better than the others (although there are a few very productive holes scattered along the SH coast, but that would be too specific). i dont know how the bayside has been, but if its less crowded/less noisy next weekend, then maybe you should try there. id go with clams, ive been trying both bunker and clams and clams seem more productive. the bass seem to want only clams (at least out front where ive been fishing). if the blues are around youll be fine with the lures you have. metal from 1-3 ozs will be good for the blues. i want to go down to the hook next weekend, but im thinking its going to be way too crazy being its memorial day weekend.

make sure you bring a few wire leaders for the Boo fish so you dont lose your lures.

I would get down there early. If nice weather is forecast it will be a mob scene. The construction traffic will be a nightmare.

I cant get down there this weekend.