Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
carp13

Serious question for experieced yakkers

21 posts in this topic

I'm new to the sport and picking up my Malibu Stealth in two days,now what I'm about to ask i am not planning to try anytime soon.I will wait until I feel I am experienced enough to do so,or maybe not at all depending on the information/advice I get here.Is it possible to fish the mainstream/channel of the Connecticut River between Hartford and Wethersfield during normal water levels?Seems like it might be alot to handle,boat control while concentrating on fishing.I,ve also heard that anchoring in current can be dangerous.I understand a tree coming downsteram just below the surface can swamp a kayak instantly without quick decisive action.Anyone ever hook a 30-40 inch striper on a kayak while in heavy river current?Is it possible to land one without getting towed all the way to Old Lyme?I know,lots of questions here,I just can't find any information on this type fishing.How about a controlled drift?Is that a feasible alternative to anchoring?Or are there too many snags and will freeing up lines and maintaining boat control be impossible.Any experience with anything I mentioned here will be greatly appreciated.Thank you in advance...please no lectures on pfd's,I have one and plan to always wear it while on the river or the ocean.Thanks.

legal disclaimer.... cwm27.gif

FIRST: IT IS YOUR LIFE... NOT MINE.... and SAFETY FIRST.... that being said...

i think it depends on the flow rate and traffic of your local river.... while it's not the safest or most sane thing to do, sometimes there's no way around it if you want to get at the fish...