Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
carp13

Will a boat wake send me swimming?

18 posts in this topic

I am new to kayaking,only paddled one once over ten years ago.I just purchased a Malibu Stealth 12 and I am planning on taking it out on a large freshwater lake on opening day.This lake has alot of boat traffic and boats with large motors.The Stealth is 12'4" long and has a 33" beam.My question is,do I need to turn my kayak into the wake of every boat that goes flying by me or should I have no problem concentrating on fishing?My guess is that the water is still going to be very chilly come April 18 and I want to be prepared,trying not to take a swim until July sometime.Thanks in advance.

I haven't had a problem yet but I've never had to deal with a real close call or anything either. I try to stay concious of the wakes as they approach and lean as needed. For the most part, I usually just "enjoy the ride." Unless you are talking about a REALLY big boat or a real close pass at a decent speed - I think you won't have a problem.

I always turn because that's what I was taught when boating.

A few times I've been caught dead on and I didn't capsize or anything. There was just a noticeable slap when the bow came down.

If you catch them at an angle, you slide right down the back of the wake no problem.

Boats at plane won;t bother you it;s the guys chugging around pushing a bow wake. Try to take them over the bow or front quarters. It's the ones you don;t see from the rear quarters that get me smile.gif Still haven;t gone over yet though. Scott

Good question, I am a newbie myself to yaking.

I alway wonder about this, seems like you get some good feedback.

My plan on my maiden trip is to be a dare devil, push it to the limit!

Just me, paddle and yak. I will try fall off, wake, get on back, weight balance, etc.

I was also thinking about packing, just incase a boat is heading for my head.lol.

Under water google will come in handy for a quick dive.?