Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
BrooklynFly

704Z Rotor-painting question

Rate this topic

8 posts in this topic

Quick question for the penn restore gurus: I drilled out my 704z rotor this winter-I still have to debur and smooth holes-and I'm gonna need to get it painted. I'm thinking since it's a brand new rotor and only the holes need coating that I can get away with not fully stripping rest of paint away. I'm thinking of going with a semi black appliance or bbq type epoxy rusto, or krylon-that won't need primer. Do you think I'll have clearance problems between spool and rotor, by spraying another coat or two, w/o fully stripping down to bare metal? I've never used epoxy rattle cans before-does this stuff go on thicker than regular krylon? I plan on scotchbriting or wet sanding the original paint prior to recoat, which will hopefully take the original paint down a bit. Think this will work? I read about baking etc and would prefer not to get into that.

Nice drill job! I think your plan should be fine. Even with holes, sand & grit will get in between the spool & rotor and you will eventually scratch the interior so don't worry about clearance. I would spray some kind of clear coat afterwards, and perhaps even brush on some clear coat in the holes as a precaution.

The other option would be to just paint the exposed metal areas and coat them, but this will probably not be as durable...

Thanks staktup. Looked around yesterday for paint, the only one I could find locally was the Krylon BBQ-doesn't say on can whether this is a flat or satin paint. Believe me I called and visited a bunch of HW stores, auto supply, paint etc. I may just cut my losses at this point and order some VHT epoxy or Brownells Aluma hyde II paint and eat the shipping cost and get exactly the semi gloss black paint I want. I'll post pics when reel is done.