Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
dbranco

What size trolling motor will I need???

Rate this topic

15 posts in this topic

Dan,

I assume you are talking about an electric motor. I would suggest a bow mount motor if you are tossing lures or flies off the bow and a transom if you are trolling bait or artificials. I would get a 24 volt system (2 batteries) and as many thrusts as you can afford. For my money, I like the Minnkota 80 lb thrust bow mount tiptide. If you fly fish then get the foot peddle as the wireless remote means having to take your hand off the rod to manuver. Hope that helps some........I have been running them for many years. I must tell you I am on the Minnkota guide program so I am biased to their product. However, I had the opportunity to go with either Minnkota or Motor Guide. I chose what I felt was the better product... Both are good companies. If it is a toss up then go with the company whose repair shop is closer to you.

HCsmile.gif

I really only have 600.00 for trolling and batteries... I was thinking about getting the trolling motor with a handle, I have no front seat and I don't fly fish.

The guy at the boat shop said a 12V 55lbs thrust would be enough but I am a little worried about that...

Dan

View PostI really only have 600.00 for trolling and batteries... I was thinking about getting the trolling motor with a handle, I have no front seat and I don't fly fish.

The guy at the boat shop said a 12V 55lbs thrust would be enough but I am a little worried about that...

Dan

Dan