Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
MrTeek

Dremel, drilling, and steel

Rate this topic

18 posts in this topic

Hey guys. I'm in the process of pimping out a penn 700, and I'm hoping to drill it out like you guys typically do with a dremel.smile.gif

Any of you guys have experience with drilling the steel rotor cup with a dremel? I've never done this before, just looking for some tips and general advice.

My biggest problem is dremel doesn't really suggest or make drill bits specifically for drilling steel. They're very vague about it. Any suggestions on bits to use or methods?

Thanks.

I have a ton of experience working with dremels, to drill holes in wood its fine or free hand carving , grinding, general shaping etc. Metal is alot harder to work with because u can't get a slow enought speed on a dremel to drill it correctly. when u drill metal u want a relativly low speed but with enought torgue to bore and chip away the material. a dremel spins too fast and vibrates. as soon as u break the surface the bit can shift position and mess up ur hole, so if u want to be neat, definatly like others have stated use a drill press and a drill vise where u can hold the workpiece.

MrTeek, my only advice to you is don't drill the bottom of the 700 rotor-cup only the sides. Unlike other Penn rotors drilling the bottom of the 700 you are just draining onto your pinion bearing. (NOT SMART)cwm40.gif

Wow, I didn't know that using the dremel was such a bad idea. Thanks for the heads up, I'm glad I asked you guys first before I started and could have messed things up badly.

So I guess I'll have to take this to a machinist to get it done?headscratch.gif

Ok, I misread some of the posts.

So now that I'm coherent, what I can get is that YOU CAN use the dremel if you want to, but you may not get the best results as if using a professional drill press.

I forgot to mention, that I have the drill press attachment for the dremel. So with that in mind is it a bit more viable?