Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Spigola

704 replacement?

Rate this topic

24 posts in this topic

I have been using a 704 for many years but now that I have started to like using braids, I am thinking of replacing the reel with one that is a bit more braid friendly.

I will be using the reel on my 10 foot Rainshadow rod. I am hoping to keep the price under $200. I am also trying to find a reel that will not snap the bail closed on my at the worst time imaginable, during a cast.

And, yes, I want a bail on the reel. I am at the point where I have a hard time finding the line in the dark in order to get it back on the roller.

C'mon guys, help me spend my kids inheritance. wink.gif

Spigola HappyWave.gif

Shimano Spheros 8000 is what u need. smile.gif It is my go to reel. Retails around $100 ish - winds on 50 lb PP great, waterproof drag and the rotor locks so it won't move when you cast. I don't care how wristy you cast - the bail is NEVER gonna snap down and break ya $25 lure off.

That will be one custom plug. biggrin.gif

Check out the Quantum Cabo PT Saltwater series.Looks pretty impressive.Magnetic bail(no springs involved).Ceramic drag system.Instant anti reverse. Priced in the $180.00/$200.00 range.

Those are nice feeling reels, CliffB. I had one of the PTs on a rod and was trying to pop the bail close on it. Unfortunately if you are a wristy caster the bail WILL close w/ the Quantum Cabo PTs. frown.gif I love the one piece SS handle! (you reading this VS). Come w/ only one spool.

Spheros come w/ just one spool as well. frown.gif (hey Shimano - wake up here .... LOL).

Nuke & Charl,