Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
ESyakr

surf fishing? im a noob

Rate this topic

14 posts in this topic

so are most of you surf/shore fishermen? i really had no idea "serious" fishermen fished from the bank, always thought you had to have a 50,000k boat to catch anything...well not really, but i had no idea it was such a big thing. is that what most of you do though, is fish from the beach? not trying to ignorant for funny, just want to know.

Most guys here fish from the beach, canals, or land. Some also have boats. Some have kayaks. We just share a general interest in fishing. But I would say most stripers caught by people on SOL are from the beach.

Get a pair of waders. There's nothing like integrating yourself with the marine environment, up close and personal. It's addicting, and you experience your fishing to a much deeper level.

almost 100% land for unless it's fluke time...nothing beat's landing a striper of any size from the surf it's rush that you can't get enough of!! it can also be very challanging too. it's alway's a real hunt from shore!!

Surf fisherman are a different "breed" than boat fisherman.

Its much harder to consistantly catch big fish from the surf than it is from a boat, and that fact alone gives us surf fisherman the "adrenaline rush of the hunt" the challenge of using a small "window" of opportunity to try and catch big stripers, we may at times walk 1 to 2 miles just to get to the fishing "spot" we intend to fish.

In my opinion surf fisherman are much better fisherman than boat fisherman, because there is a lot more skill, and knowledge needed to successfully catch big stripers from the surf. Don't get me wrong here, boat fisherman know their stuff to, but give them a surf rod and take away their boat and they are "lost", on the other hand give a surf fisherman a boat and he will out fish anyone on the water biggrin.gif

We all share the same thing, we all love fishing beers.gif