Conversation with a friend today....

Rate this topic

DaveC

He made a statement that with all the new plugs on the market his "go to" lure hasn't changed....the black Bomber (he fishes like most of us, primarily at night). I thought about this a little and almost agree.

What do you guys think?confused.gif

------------------

DC ><}}}}>

DaveC <0))))))))))))><

I'm relatively new to the plugging game, only two seasons under my belt, but I have always done better with a yellow plug, last season it was a school bus bomber and this past season it was a yellow over white megabait. I always have a black bomber in my bag and throw it often but I always go back to the yellows and have had better success with them.

Rui

Bill,

I agree with you that the "oldie" is usually the "go to" lure. I, like many others up this way, had my early successes with a Bomber, and still have the most confidence with it (even though I fish other lures a lot now).

Rui,

On bright moonlit nights I like yellow. The chicken scratch Bomber is my choice then (or the yellow Megabait).

Arne

Arne
SOL #4

It wasn't all that long ago I stopped carrying ANY Bomber type lures. I just was not interested in catching smaller size fish.

Man do I hate all those hooks, specially on those flopping schoolies.

Needless to say, over the past few years all those plugs have found their way back into my bag.

this has to be the most disrespectful and disgusting thread I've ever seen posted

My personal "goto" is a Smokey Joe Redfin, but I'd bet we all carry that black Bomber. I wonder just how much consistency we'd find if we could open up everyone's bag and see what was there. I would guess that there are probably six or seven plugs that are "standard" along the coast.

Capt. Jack
Barnegat Bay Fishing Charters