crowconor

Some flies I tied

30 posts in this topic

I figured I would post a picture of some of the flies I tied up. I am new to salt water fly fishing and new to fly tying, so I would love some feedback if anyone has some. I tried to tie up some of the more popular patterns from what I have read. Sorry for the awful Iphone picture. 
Let me know what ya think.

image1 (1).jpeg

They all look good and will catch. The colors on your Clouser's are inverted though. Typically I want white for the bottom color on Clouser's.

^^^what he said. Clousers ride 'upside down' so that the dumbell eyes ride down with the hook point riding up. Thus you more or less have to tie your dorsal and belly colors in the opposite order than you would for non weighted flies

Don't know what kind of feedback your looking for? Pointers on how to make your flies "better"?

I would suggest that you start from one pattern and build up your basic skills from there and not try multiple things at the same time that require different "techniques" . 

Clousers are a great place to start as they will catch you a lot of fish even if they are not tied to perfection. Take a look at this video by the master himself Bob Clouser. Open it up when you start to tie the fly and follow it step by step.

It is always good to get some constructive criticism and you did. All of those flies will hunt and if you are just starting out then you are well on your way to becoming very adept in your new undertaking.

I will caution you not to go crazy and start tying a whole bunch of new flies. Most tiers fall into that trap and end up with a bunch of flies that will never see water.

Concentrate on proportions and you will be off on and running. I think like most of use you will find that a few patterns of all that you tie will become favorites and go to flies.

You have skills. My suggestion following on from the other suggestions would be to tye up some mainstream Striper patterns.

Lefty Deceivers.

Simple Poppers