stormy monday

Advice for a spinning rookie?

16 posts in this topic

Here are some basic, stupid even, questions regarding spinning gear. Background, been fly fishing since the 60s because someone gave me one, so I have no knowledge of most gear. I have used a bait casting rig for LMBs once but that’s it other than droplines for flounder. My son would like to fish with me, but the fly gear is more effort than he is into right now, kid works 11 hour days, so I got him a 7’ rod and a spinning reel with 14 lb. mono on it to go chase some schoolies with me. That said;

How does the drag function on a spinning reel (told you it was basic)? On the fly reel, which is direct drag, the fish runs when I let it, but when I reel in it can no longer take line – same with a spinning reel? I found a nice diamond jig in RI last week, is that alone OK or should I get like a Hoagy soft sand eel to put on it? Or would I be better off with plugs or something to that effect. We’re both too ADD for bait fishing… He’ll probably only go out with me a few times before he heads back to school, so not into huge investments, and sometimes he does use fly gear (he’s actually a good caster) he’s just feeling burnt out right now. Thanks for any info you can offer! Oh, I’m thinking mostly beaches and estuaries if that matters. Funny most people think fly fishing is complex, but to me spinning gear seems complex…

I found this expansion online on how the drag works on a spinning reel. 

The drag is simply a pair of friction plates inside of fishing reels. If the fish pulls on the line hard enough, the friction is overcome, and the reelrotates backwards, letting line out.  

14 mins ago, stormy monday said: