Purchasing and Fishing with Belly Boats

Rate this topic

bigredgolf

I feel like I don't see much discussion or many photos of people here fishing from inflatable belly boats. They look pretty cool, I've never used one before but does anyone have a recommendation on brand / model? They don't look too expensive. I want to use one for fishing bass lakes where there is too much cover to effectively cast a fly rod from shore. What else do you guys use them for? thanks!

Every day above ground and on the water is a great one

I still use a Caddis belly boat I bought back in the 80's.  Inexpensive and very durable. I have used it in just about every environment, fresh and salt (except fast moving rivers). The truck tire inner tube is the original and has never be punctured or lost air.  I would buy another without hesitation.

Edited by Squish
qrs

Qualunque stronzo può prendere un pesce da una barca

I've messed with them a long time, and like them. My first was a donut, don't buy one of those, really awkward to get in and out of. Couple months ago I bought a Cumberland Green River on sale, from Overstock I think, for about $150. I like it.

They're great non-impact leg exercise too.

They are a lot of fun and you can get surprisingly close to the fish in them. A great way to cool off and fish and get exercise in the summer. I have a generic one I bought off a friend but have used the Outcast Fish Cat owned by another friend and can recommend that. There are a couple of versions of the Fish Cat out there. I like the foam seat as it has you sitting up a bit higher than the inflatable one which is more money.

Edited by JEFFSOD