ksong

Fedex imposes $80 surcharge for rod/blank over 8 ft.

16 posts in this topic

FedEx started to impose $80 surcharge for rod/blank over 96 inches as oversized items. 

I think UPS does the same thing. 

It will affect the sale of long rods/blanks over 8' in the future. 

Ouch. That's gotta hurt. 96 inches is the tube size, so the rod is at most 7'10" - 7'11"

17 mins ago, hobobob said:

Ouch. That's gotta hurt. 96 inches is the tube size, so the rod is at most 7'10" - 7'11"

Yes. I am already thinking about  shortening our 8' rods/blanks  to 7'11".

There is a half inch window you have listed right on the website. So 96.5 is fine I have shipped plenty of them at that measurement and never had an issue 

I’m a ups package driver. They switched to dimensional pricing a while ago. Lost some decent accounts in my route because of it 

The pricing sounds insane but our system isn designed to handle over sized items. All irregular items have to get hand sorted and hand moved in the building.  They cannot fit thru the belts and slides in our buildings. In order to handle the iregs, they need man power which costs more money than adding a new conveyor belt. 

Trust me I’m not defending the pricing at all as I lost some accounts on my route but just trying to shed light. Trust me you do not want you 8’ rod blank any where near the back on my car. It’s a very rough system

I found Fedex changed the policy from Jan, 2018, but they started to enforce the policy recently.

Shopping for a blank I talked to an extremely helpful and knowledgable gentleman at FSC and he told me about this new pricing. It meant an added $125 to the price of a one piece 9’ blank which sort of made it price prohibitive. Unfortunately, this is going to cause some real problems for blank manufacturers and if shipping is involved two piece blanks are going to be way cheaper than one piece (for 9 ft+ surf rods).

Posted (edited)