Noob to stripers.

Rate this topic

andrewdod

Hi guys, first post here....

I'm pretty brand new to striper fishing... But I would like to get into it! In past years my main focus has been fluke, and I've found I've been able to nail them down pretty good! But, I've never tried for Stripers. I was fortunate enough to have some lures given to me recently by someone at work who just doesn't have the time to fish anymore. From what I've read they will bite on a lot of different lures, I was thinking about giving it a shot. Any tips are welcome, I'm planning to go down to a jetty I know about and seeing if I have any luck this weekend. I've got four different seven foot poles, I'll be spooling them up w/ 20 lb test as the week goes on. I figured I will try a few with live bait, and also work a lure to see if I can get lucky on one of them.

Not looking to ruffle any feathers, I just want to learn and get on the right track.

Here are the lures I've acquired are they any good or are they just wall art for the garage? Thanks in advance guys.

40008395040_31667ba2b1.jpg

40008394900_c6a23c7609.jpg

]40008394870_25126f499c.jpg

40008394620_4e96bb65b7.jpg

41098698694_12333f244c.jpg

Thanks for the help/advice guys, I do have decent foot wear for the jetty, however I'm sure it could be better. When I stop by the bait shop on my way in I'll be sure to keep my eye out for some more lures and such. Planning on fishing from 5-9 Saturday. Should be right at the outgoing tide change into dead low, hoping I can get lucky. I'll be happy with some shorties if i can get them.

Best of luck on catching stripers. some lures cast farther, some go deeper, and then there’s profile and color. Still learning myself. One tip, keep your hooks sharpy sharp, something I have forgot to do recently, but I believe helps us focused on what we’re trying to do, catch fish. Tight lines. 

Edited by jeffapeikin

1. Those lures are all good for the NJ beaches and alot of folks throw them.