Seadogg

New Rio outbound short

15 posts in this topic

Putting together an 8wt setup and I’m pretty sure I’m going with this line based on its features. I’ve picked up a used Scott Tidal and a Galvan Rush LT. Looking at the I/S3 version as this seems like a good all around from the boat. I’ve been using the 350gr InTouch 30’ DC for the past few seasons with my 10wt and love it, aside from its cracking issues. Any thoughts on this line? 

I like the Rio OBS lines very much, but I have no specific experience with their S3 OBS. I have come to prefer the Airflo Sniper lines though. The Snipers have the same head length & weights as the OBS lines, but I find the Airflo running lines to be better handling and they tangle less for me. The Rio In Touch lines are great, but the Airflo is better, IMO. I think Airflo makes an 8wt Sniper S3 line—check the Bear’s Den site—they list all the Sniper lines. YMMV Have Fun

I have the previous version Outbound Short 9I/S3.  I'm not sure what changed (if anything) with the newer version.  Has a few cracks, but it hasn't been an issue yet.  I've been using it for 3 years I think.  I really haven't had any tangling issues with it, other than the first few times I used it maybe.  You can probably find the previous version I/S3 line on Ebay or I think Cabela's had it on sale also.

Yea Chris the Airflo was an option I considered so I’ll talk to Scott when I get there. Thanks for the recommendation. I definitely want a low or no stretch core, which both lines offer. Looking for max distance with good turnover for medium to large-ish flies (by 8wt standards). This will be a schoolie/albie/bonito setup primarily. 

check out the SA Titan taper,no stretch like the RIO but the head presents better,less likely to turn over too quick/dump like the OBS,short head like the OBS

20 mins ago, slip n slide said: