Skyway fish release tips?

Rate this topic

squidwontons33

Hey all, 

I have a lot of experience in the keys, usually rent a boat a few days, for sharks on the flats, and then fill in the rest of the time on breachways etc. 

Ill be in Tampa for ten days in Feb. Planning on fishing the skyway. Really wanted to test some canal rods on medium sized sharks. Haven't really been in to many situations where there was no space to land them and get the hook out. 

Is there a way i can burn some drag and have some fun with the girlfriend, by safely popping the hooks out when I get them close? If there isn't i'm going to respect them and back off. Just curious? I fish barbless already, I just want to be sure the hook can be removed as ill be high above the water. 

Thanks! And thanks for answering every stupid question we have here....

Edited by squidwontons33

I fish the west coast area a lot for sharks, not so much the Skyway because, to answer your question, there's no way to safely land one by the bridge because there's no beach. From the entrance of the fishing bridge a rocky seawall runs the entire length on both sides. What we usually do is yak baits off the wall from the end of the bridge and then leader them by the seawall, which requires getting into the water with them to take the hook out. There are some areas by the wall where you can do that --- but I don't recommend doing this kind of release unless you have extensive experience being in the water with pissed off sharks....especially at night. Most of those sharks at the Skyway are MONSTERS.....medium sized does not exist there LoL.

The other way you mentioned, popping the hook for the sake of a thrill, I'm not inclined to agree with that. For me, at least, catching sharks is a package deal, meaning the fish MUST swim off safely with no piercings. Hope you heed to that advice.  

6 hours ago, zcoker said: