YeahiLuvDemStripaz

South Shore Surfcasting

11 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Anyone here have any good tips on fishing *the south shore? I've had great fall run action on the Sound this fall, but each time I've been out on the jettys on *the south shore... it's skunk city... no bunker, barely any few birds, and no splashes.  

Beach and Jetty access (especially after Labor Day) is really not a major issue on *the south shore and I've never seen cops try to hassle anyone. Just wondering if anyone has any good tips for the beach, which feels like it should be a money spot. 

Edited by TimS
Overly specific location removed - we don't discuss over specific locations here...please keep these type of questions as general as possible - that's the only way people will respond :-)

Everyone here is going to tell you to get out and fish. This is my first year in this sport and that sounds like a very general piece of advice but it is the best piece of advice. I am no where near the level of some people on this site so I try to learn the water I am fishing and research things that apply to what I find. take notes of things that are successful and things that are not. Look around you when people are around and take note of what the guys that know what they are doing are throwing. 

Just go down to any beach west of Moriches and look around .There's no cheat code 

Honestly speaking... I live on the South Shore and for me ..again for me.. piss poor.  I have had the majority of my action on the North Shore.

Word has it that early November surf at Captree and Fire Island inlet were producing.

I took a recon stroll on Saturday morning and only noticed a few googans ...  white buckets are always a dead giveaway.

I'm switching to sweet water for the rest of the winter 

Slack lines for me

Strictly a south shore guy. Four triggers for me for the past few weeks.

Change of tide, best on the backside.

First light to about 8 AM.

Last hour or so of daylight into dark.