coastalfreak

Knife Question

7 posts in this topic

Hi folks. I am new to the world of knives and have a quick question. Can skinning knives and other "hunting" knives be used for general camp chores like carving, cutting, batoning, food prep (obviously) and other just general outdoor activities? I don't see why not, just wanting to make sure. 

Posted (edited)

why not?

I am a boy scout and have done it ever since.

if I carve I prefer a small knife though.

I have monster bowies and skinners that I carry fishing and they do everything needed.

small ones work good too,,for me anyway.

HH

Edited by Roddy

2 hours ago, coastalfreak said:

Hi folks. I am new to the world of knives and have a quick question. Can skinning knives and other "hunting" knives be used for general camp chores like carving, cutting, batoning, food prep (obviously) and other just general outdoor activities? I don't see why not, just wanting to make sure. 

Yes.

Won't be the best tool for all jobs... but it will work.

Do your knife a favor and don't baton it.

Before the internet I never felt like I was lacking when outdoors with a small knife (folder or sub 4" fixed blade) and a folding saw like a Sven Saw or a "What-A-Saw".