Big Will

Delaware river stripers

9 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I just recently moved from jersey to Philadelphia. It sucks because I'm a little farther from the shore but I live very close to the Delaware. I saw a thread on this forum earlier in the year but figured Instead of hijacking the thread id start a new one. I've fished this river a few times in a spot that was known to produce it was south of the Walt Whitman. I didn't catch anything but apparently I missed a good day of multiple 30s and 40s from that spot however that was years ago. Has anyone had luck on this river in the spring? What techniques do you use and where do you fish? I'm not asking for specific spots but general areas for example do you fish from Trenton down to tacony, Philadelphia area, or south of Walt Whitman closer to the bay. I was thinking bunker heads and chunks but have heard of other techniques as well. And im talking from shore not boat. 

Edited by Big Will

I am by no means an expert on this. I fish above N.E. Philly some in

the spring. Since the end of being able to use herring, i honestly dont

put in much time anymore. The bloodworm  thing aggravates me.

Cost and availability. Size. I would suggest loading up and freezing

bunker you get this fall.

4 minutes ago, yosco said:

I am by no means an expert on this. I fish above N.E. Philly some in

the spring. Since the end of being able to use herring, i honestly dont

put in much time anymore. The bloodworm  thing aggravates me.

Cost and availability. Size. I would suggest loading up and freezing

bunker you get this fall.

I've never had a problem getting fresh bunker in the spring. Bloodworms seem pointless to me never was much of a fan of them. And what do you mean you can't use herring?