First Fly rod ?

Rate this topic

surfcast

I am going to purchase my first fly rod, I am clear about weights . I see all different weight rods ,come in different lengths.

What do I use to determine length , is it just preference. Or is it area specific, species specific, Obviously I am new to it better to start small and wok up ?

I'll tell you this, no eternal reward will forgive us now for wasting the dawn.

Jim Morrison 

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun.
Now there's a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky.

Type of fishing you want to do will determine. Saltwater the best all around is a nine foot in single hand fly fishing. For brookie fishing in small streams you might go down to a seven footer. All around freshwater maybe a 5-6wt from eight and a half to nine feet.

i don't want to rain on your parade but my first impression is that you are not familiar with fly fishing. The fly rod is just the tip of the ice berg, so many things to consider, I would suggest that you try to connect with someone who fly fishes for what your target will be. That could save you a lot of time and money. 

The Tug Is The Drug

P1060161avrs.JPG.4cfec72f29b8d59afe85d0e7a9d85266.JPG

Echo Base. I am no expert but have been fly fishing for 6 ish years now and tried a #6. Loved it, so I bought myself a #7 for schoolie stripers.But length and weight will depend on what you are fishing for. Rod is important, line is super important, reel is just a place to store line. I rarely get a fish on the reel unless it's at least keeper sized, and or a good swift current is running.

My idea was to use it in the lake, just to start learning how to cast . And then hope to do some, trout fishing.

I was thinking possibly a 6 wt  7 foot long. From the replies above salt water Is 8 -- 9 foot and stream is 7--8 foot

I guess because of brush . 

Jim Morrison