Fishing alone at night! How do you do it?

Rate this topic

redboy

Im kinda new to surf fishing been at it for a few years , mostly would fish during the day. Recently i started fishing at night to avoid some crowds and what not but im having a hard time walking the beach at night , idk it just creeps me out especially wading out in the surf. If i find an area where people are fishing i'm ok but if i am alone any type of noise im like WTF was that (i know usually its just waves crashing or something)????

So my question is how do some of you guys walk the beach at night alone and fish ? Anyone have similar feelings and worked through it and now are able to just fish anytime at night anywhere???  Any tips that might help me out???

Its driving me crazy i have a spot that's holding some nice fish that i landed my pb at , the only problem is the bite really heats up at night...

any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. 

Never been nervous at night myself I welcome the night

However given that you do need to take precautions and less risk, don't get swept out into the ocean for a extra 2ft distance wading in the surf, be smart and minimize risks again it's at night and rescue may not be available as a crowded beach

Otherwise knock on wood other than some ballsy raccoons I've never had an issue and I fish 85% of the time at night

If you try to change it, you will ruin it. Try to hold it, and you will lose it.

Lao Tzu, Tao Te Ching

I fish 95% at night.  I used to be a little nervous when I wetsuited.  You kinda just build up tolerance.  Every season at the beginning of the season I get some kind of adrenaline rush, and then it fades very quickly as I am used to it.  Just keep exposing yourself to it and you will get over it.  I find that using a light (which I don't) actually makes it worse because you see shadows and rocks become seals and sharks, etc.  Best to just live in the blackness.

Be safe!