Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Fin Nor Biscyane 80/ Sportfisher 80 teardown

7 posts in this topic

Hi guys

I picked up a Fin Nor Biscayne FS80 last time I was in Sydney for $130. looking around the internet it seems this reel is called the Sportfisher FS80 everywhere else. I was dying to see what the insides of the FS80 looks like so I took it apart last night. I have been using the reel for the past four months for fishing from a wharf here in Fiji for GTs. My reel is now on its second spool of 100lb braid due to the line getting shorter every time some fish cuts me of on the coral. The reel takes just under 300yards of 100lb

When I first loaded the line, I checked the amount of max drag available with the assistance of my next door neighbor. Bimini on the main line attached to a twisted 100lb leader loop to loop to which tied a 300lb swivel and 300lb split ring and that hooked onto the 100lb hand scales with a dowel through the scales hanger which my neighbor holds. He sits on the floor with his back on a wall and feet braced onto the floor and I screw up the drag and walk backwards. The max I got with just a touch under a complete know screw down was 26kg while ripping about 20m of line off. Wasn't easy doing this. This is how much I screw up the drag when I hookup as the GTs only need to run a few metres to cut off on the coral here. I have even had to grip the spool sometimes to stop a fish from reaching an old wharf wood pile. Without much success as the hooks would bend or leader break or something

I was impressed with the way the bail arm, main shaft and reel stem took the abuse so was keen to see what the rest of the reel was like and at the same time check what needed a service. Thought I'd take some pics and show you fellas how she is built. I dont know much about the insides of the reels but Alan Hawks thorough articles is a good reference