Trolling motor battery

Rate this topic

Been searching thru old posts to try to get my answer and got more confused. I need a battery for a 40lb.thrust trolling motor and I need it to push my Jon boat all day and night around lakes as big as 800 sq. acres. Forget about the cost, after all, it's for fishin'. I was told Gel cell, and now I read about AGM or AG something. What battery will let me run the longest without having to dock and switch batteries? (can't carry too much weight in a Jon). All this yellow top, blue top, light or dark gray casings, gel has charging issues..... huh?? Just a real good deep cycle trolling ONLY battery. Thanks all

I'm no battery expert but here are a few things that might help you.

1. All trolling motors are NOT created equal. Variable speed trollers will be much kinder on the battery than a 5 speed troller. Minn Kota claims the battery will last 5 times as long with a variable speed.

2. I use lead acid batteries only and have never had a problem. I also take care of them. To get the most out of a battery they should always be charged after each usage ASAP. The longer you wait, the more sulfates build up on the plates and that's the kiss of death for batteries. They should never go more than 24 hours before charging.

3. Just because the battery is "new" and the salesman says it's "fully charged" does not mean squats if it was sitting on the shelves for months. All batteries have the date of manufacture on them somewhere and they shouldn't be purchased if over 2 months old.

Hope this helps.

fishinambition  Posted June 30 ·After a decade and a half of trolling and disrupting the website, frank's finally fed up with Tim's bull****