Jump to content


Photo

Cutting Asphalt Driveway


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Gilbey

Gilbey

    5,000 Post Club!

  • Moderators
  • 8,100 posts
  • Joined: Dec-17 1999

Posted April 19 2010 - 10:08 AM

Hi guys.

I need to remove a 10' x 10' section of asphalth driveway. The main driveway is staying, so I want to get a nice, relatively clean line cut so I don't rip up the driveway that is staying. Can I just rent a demo saw from the local rental joint and cut the line? What type of blade do I need?

Thanks.

Alan

#2 north-shore fisha

north-shore fisha

    1,000 Post Club!

  • BST Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,640 posts
  • Joined: Mar-29 2007
  • LocationSalem, MA

Posted April 19 2010 - 10:27 AM

I rented one from home depot once. worked out well.

#3 ted527

ted527

    1,000 Post Club!

  • BST Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,799 posts
  • Joined: Nov-18 2008
  • LocationBurlington County N.J.

Posted April 19 2010 - 3:05 PM

cheapest blade would be a masonary abrasive blade.

might need a couple for a 10' cut.

#4 Wayne Tj

Wayne Tj

    Way too many!

  • BST Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,837 posts
  • Joined: Nov-10 2000
  • LocationGitland, NY

Posted April 19 2010 - 3:20 PM


Quote:








Originally Posted by ted527
View Post

cheapest blade would be a masonary abrasive blade.

might need a couple for a 10' cut.





I used these on my 7 1/4" circular saw to cut about 25' - it took about 1 1/2 blades - so for a 10' x 10' you'll need 2-3 blades.

They do a nice clean cut.
.
.
.
I'll take God and guns, you can keep Obama.

#5 Gilbey

Gilbey

    5,000 Post Club!

  • Moderators
  • 8,100 posts
  • Joined: Dec-17 1999

Posted April 20 2010 - 8:04 AM

Really???? Just a circular saw??? I never thought of that. I have an older craftsman 7.5" saw that is a workhorse. I might have to give that a try. Even if I burn through 8 blades it would still be a cheaper than renting. Thanks guys.

Alan

#6 Cabo2005

Cabo2005

    5,000 Post Club!

  • BST Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,591 posts
  • Joined: Apr-17 2006

Posted April 20 2010 - 8:18 AM

My brother cut the concrete in his basement to install the sump with his circular saw and the correct blade.
Cabo

#7 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff

    Way too many!

  • Banned Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted April 20 2010 - 11:05 AM


Quote:








Originally Posted by Gilbey
View Post

Really???? Just a circular saw??? I never thought of that. I have an older craftsman 7.5" saw that is a workhorse. I might have to give that a try. Even if I burn through 8 blades it would still be a cheaper than renting. Thanks guys.





Alan







There are also diamond blades that will do the job, just have a kid with a squirt bottle working with you to control blade heat and dust.

#8 Wayne Tj

Wayne Tj

    Way too many!

  • BST Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,837 posts
  • Joined: Nov-10 2000
  • LocationGitland, NY

Posted April 20 2010 - 3:44 PM


Quote:








Originally Posted by Gilbey
View Post

Really???? Just a circular saw??? I never thought of that. I have an older craftsman 7.5" saw that is a workhorse. I might have to give that a try. Even if I burn through 8 blades it would still be a cheaper than renting. Thanks guys.

Alan





Come to think of it, if I had adjusted the blade depth to that of just the asphalt I would not have used more than one blade - it's the crushed stone under the asphalt that did a job on the blades.
.
.
.
I'll take God and guns, you can keep Obama.

#9 KevinB

KevinB

    1,000 Post Club!

  • Users
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,573 posts
  • Joined: Jul-31 2006

Posted April 20 2010 - 4:00 PM



Just saw this on the news

#10 Nitro882

Nitro882

    5,000 Post Club!

  • Users
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,239 posts
  • Joined: Feb-18 2003

Posted April 20 2010 - 7:48 PM

asphalt is soft compared to concrete, abrasive blade is the way to go
"We aren't At Large, we're just avoiding the police.."


Back to Do It Yourself · Next Unread Topic →