Delaware Clam Regulations

Rate this topic

I was reading the Delaware Fishing Guide (rules and regs) and I was just wondering why Non Residents are only allowed 50 clams and Residents are allowed 100. I bought a licesene like everyone else has why the different quanities? All of the fish have to be the same sizes and crabs are the same amounts. So why the difference in clams?

View PostI really would like to know why this is the way it is......I got a sweet spot for clams but its a good drive for me to get there and Im not so sure its worth the drive for 50 clams

Think of it as being a guest in somebody elses house. wink.gif

Here is what I wrote and the response I got back

WhatI Wrote

To: Cole Richard (DNREC)

Subject: Clam Question

Hello, My name is Jeremy Weinhold. I am a resident of Pennsylvania . I have a current fishing licence in the state of Delaware (lic. #*****). I was reading the free publication that I pick up at our campground and was pretty upset to find out that Non-Resident fisherman are only allowed to keep 50 clam as opposed to a Resident being able to keep 100. Im fully aware that this has been like this in the past but now that everyone is required to be licesened to fish in tidal waters it might be time for a change. There is no difference in the amout of crab that is allowed to be taken by residents versus non-resident and there is also no difference in the size of the fish that are allowed to be kept by the two groups either. So why the difference in clams? We (non residents) pay more for licenses but are not able to "play" by the same rules. Im not writing this letter to complain about the price difference, I have no problem with that. I dont even have a problem with having to have a licence . I am just not understanding why the difference in creel amount.

Thank You for listening to my concerns

Jeremy M. Weinhold

717 *** 6285.....please feel free to call at any time.

This was the response I got

Mr. Weinhold,