Jump to content


Photo

Radiators vs. baseboard.


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 14 2007 - 11:45 AM

Can I replace the radiators in my houese with baseboard heating? I don' mean a whole new system, just tie into existing lines and run new baseboard. I know it will have to be longer than the 4' or so radiator.



#2 Brian

Brian
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 38,526 posts
  • Joined: Mar-16 2000

Posted September 14 2007 - 2:44 PM

You could, but unless you're talking cast iron baseboard, I'm not sure why you would want to.


A whiter shade of pale....

 


#3 bass-o-matic

bass-o-matic
  • 5,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,664 posts
  • Joined: Sep-09 2005
  • LocationP.R.O.N.J.

Posted September 14 2007 - 2:57 PM

Your feed and return for the radiator and baseboard are at different spacing. You would have to move one of them ( not too easy unless you live in a ranch and the pipes are easily accessed in the craw space) or have a pipe running along your baseboard. You might also have to upgrade the circulating pump. I also don't know how it would affect the performance of the boiler.
IMHO I would keep the radiators.


"I just do what the voices in my tackle box tell me to do."


#4 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 14 2007 - 3:03 PM

Your feed and return for the radiator and baseboard are at different spacing. You would have to move one of them ( not too easy unless you live in a ranch and the pipes are easily accessed in the craw space) or have a pipe running along your baseboard. You might also have to upgrade the circulating pump. I also don't know how it would affect the performance of the boiler.

IMHO I would keep the radiators.



It's first floor, easy access. Spacing isn't a problem, just need a little more pipe.

Why would circ pump need upgrading?



#5 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 14 2007 - 3:05 PM

You could, but unless you're talking cast iron baseboard, I'm not sure why you would want to.



Because they look horrible. I took them out when I redid my floors, and have yet to put them back in. They are way way heavy, and i think they are horrible looking. If I can direct-replace them with baseboard, I will, rather than lug them abck around to re-install them.



#6 SeaOtter

SeaOtter
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,921 posts
  • Joined: Feb-06 2004

Posted September 14 2007 - 3:15 PM

Yes, in my house there are radiators in the original old portion of the house, and in the newer portion there are baseboards. They just tapped the inflow/outflow into the original radiator pipes. Pretty easy to do, at least it looks like it is.

Personally, give me radiators. Much better sustained heat output overall. Yeah, they're ugly, but you can mask them with covers and stuff if you want. I have one double-long radiator in my living room (about 8ft long) that is first in the water line and basically heats the entire 2-story house.


ARGH!!! You've given up yet another secret spot!!!!!!!

#7 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 14 2007 - 3:31 PM

Yes, in my house there are radiators in the original old portion of the house, and in the newer portion there are baseboards. They just tapped the inflow/outflow into the original radiator pipes. Pretty easy to do, at least it looks like it is.

Personally, give me radiators. Much better sustained heat output overall. Yeah, they're ugly, but you can mask them with covers and stuff if you want. I have one double-long radiator in my living room (about 8ft long) that is first in the water line and basically heats the entire 2-story house.


Thanks.



#8 canyondiver

canyondiver
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 21,318 posts
  • Joined: Oct-28 2003

Posted September 14 2007 - 5:32 PM

If it's first floor and you have access, why not go radiant?
All you need is an 80-100 gal reserve tank so you don't short cycle your boiler. The pump you have should be fine. You might need a manifold with a mixing valve so you can cool down the water. I think you want to stay below 120 deg for the PEX tubing.


Proud to be a NERB and I have the shirts to prove it!!

#9 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 14 2007 - 8:45 PM

If it's first floor and you have access, why not go radiant?
All you need is an 80-100 gal reserve tank so you don't short cycle your boiler. The pump you have should be fine. You might need a manifold with a mixing valve so you can cool down the water. I think you want to stay below 120 deg for the PEX tubing.



I don't want to revamp the whole system, i plan on rebuiilding the entire house in about 10 years. That's more capital than I am willing to lay down right now. Thanks for the great idea though.



#10 Ed J

Ed J
  • Meat Minnow

  • 9,695 posts
  • Joined: Dec-15 1999

Posted September 15 2007 - 6:19 PM

If you go with baseboard these people will tell you how much you need for free.
http://www.slantfin....s-software.html
Just put the required information into the software and it tell you how many feet you need.
Personally Id's stick with the rads, next choice would be radiant, and the baseboard last, but with the program above oyu can see how much you need and if it will fit.



#11 Dave588

Dave588
  • Senior Member

  • PipPipPip
  • 336 posts
  • Joined: Sep-06 2007

Posted September 15 2007 - 11:29 PM

You could go baseboard. Or there are newer style radiators available. I have a steam boiler vs. forced hot water so I'm sticking with cast iron radiators.



#12 ooeric

ooeric
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,388 posts
  • Joined: Jul-05 2007

Posted September 16 2007 - 8:36 AM

baseboard for efficiency
radiator for heat output but not so efficient
baseboard for more room. and no more burned hands
radiators for closer cabinets and furniture to wall, and burned hands.



#13 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted September 16 2007 - 9:54 AM

If you go with baseboard these people will tell you how much you need for free.

http://www.slantfin....s-software.html

Just put the required information into the software and it tell you how many feet you need.

Personally Id's stick with the rads, next choice would be radiant, and the baseboard last, but with the program above oyu can see how much you need and if it will fit.




Excellent link, thank you very much!



#14 John M

John M
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,062 posts
  • Joined: Dec-15 1999

Posted September 16 2007 - 10:21 AM

if the look terrible have them refinsihed.......Ive had all mine sand blasted and repainted, they look great now.

as for them not being effiecnt I dunno mine work great and also the heat is warm am moist. Not super dry forced air, I could never live with that again. Also old steam will tend to cause hand burns but forced hot water will not burn hands when the boiler is set properly.


* From bondage to spiritual faith;
* From spiritual faith to great courage;
* From courage to liberty;
* From liberty to abundance;
* From abundance to complacency; * From complacency to apathy; * From apathy to dependence; * From dependence back into bondage.

#15 BranfordJeff

BranfordJeff
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 49,484 posts
  • Joined: Oct-07 2006

Posted October 08 2007 - 7:33 AM

I managed to install my new baseboard this weekend. Just under 24' worth, and with the associated piping down cellar, over 50 sweated joints. Filled it up yesterday morning, and after breaking off an air valve on one of the radiators upstairs, drilling, tapping and a trip to the hardware store, there was not one single leak.

I really took my time cleaning and preping each joint. I brushed all the fittings and emery-clothed each pipe as i was fitting it up, and redid it before i re-fit and fluxed everything.

Thanks for the advice and tips, everyone!