Jump to content


Photo

Converting Gas Stove to Propane


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Fungooli

Fungooli
  • Elite Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts
  • Joined: Dec-11 2004

Posted December 13 2006 - 10:13 AM

Friend of mine gave me a nice 5 year old GE natural gas stove for my farm, as he was re doing his kitchen. Anybody know what's involved in converting it over to propane?


  • 0
  • -
WHAT A LooooooNG STRANGE TRIP IT'S BEEN !!!

#2 JAL

JAL
  • Elite Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 579 posts
  • Joined: Aug-23 2000

Posted December 14 2006 - 1:22 PM

Generally a very simple inline jetting orifice change to compensate for the pressure differance of Natural gas versus Propane. Many new appliances ship with the pieces and changed on site during installation. HOWEVER, there are always exceptions, so I would suggest contacting your Propane supplier (or someone that works on gas furnaces and appliance), give them the model of the stove, and see if there is a conversion kit for the stove.


  • 0
  • -

#3 Hang Em' High

Hang Em' High
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,198 posts
  • Joined: Mar-18 2005

Posted December 14 2006 - 1:39 PM

iT USES a different regulator than CNG and isn't expensive my Mom just ordered a new stove and I explained she needed this and she checked and the salesman included it in the price.


  • 0
  • -

#4 Charleston

Charleston
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 33,208 posts
  • Joined: Feb-14 2003
  • LocationJackson NJ but born and raised in Massachusetts

Posted December 14 2006 - 2:13 PM

Call an appliance guy to come do it for you. If the stove was free the cost of the conversion is nill.


  • 0
  • -

Went to see the whatfixer.


#5 barrell

barrell
  • 5,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,296 posts
  • Joined: Jan-01 2001

Posted December 14 2006 - 2:18 PM

You can pick up the orifice at any apliance supply store. There is one I always go to in pvile. Very simple to do yourself if your at all handy.


  • 0
  • -
BARRELL

#6 JimW

JimW
  • 5,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,891 posts
  • Joined: Sep-27 2001

Posted December 14 2006 - 3:05 PM

I would look over the range to see if there is another set of orifices taped on her some place. Think they're almost always shipped with both sets and there is a chance the installer left them with the stove.


  • 0
  • -

#7 FarmerJeff

FarmerJeff
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,879 posts
  • Joined: May-19 2004

Posted December 14 2006 - 4:50 PM


Quote:








Originally Posted by Fungooli


Friend of mine gave me a nice 5 year old GE natural gas stove for my farm, as he was re doing his kitchen. Anybody know what's involved in converting it over to propane?






Farm?


  • 0
  • -
"One thing is clear: The Founding Fathers never intended a nation where citizens pay nearly half of everything they earn to government"- Ron Paul, 7/17/01

#8 RLTW

RLTW
  • Elite Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 651 posts
  • Joined: Jul-26 2002

Posted December 14 2006 - 6:36 PM

Hit GE's appliance web site and look up your models owner's manual--get info off the appliance's data plate.

Fish around the appliance (think low and dirty) for a brown heavy duty envelope. (Hint look where the wiring diagrams are stashed). The parts you need are there.

The whole operation is easy to do -- I know nothing about appliances, but can read and follow directions. My propane fueled range went from pathetic performance (set up up for nat gas) to OK (lower BTU content of propane) performance. Talked to appliance nugs first and they told me what to do... too easy.


  • 0
  • -

#9 Vinny

Vinny
  • Way too many!

  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,251 posts
  • Joined: Aug-01 2000

Posted December 16 2006 - 10:04 AM

Easy Jeff. This website IS big enough for two farmers.


  • 0
  • -

#10 fishn808

fishn808
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,592 posts
  • Joined: Dec-09 2004

Posted December 16 2006 - 3:18 PM


Quote:







Easy Jeff. This website IS big enough for two farmers.




I think it's more of a thing...


  • 0
  • -

#11 Fungooli

Fungooli
  • Elite Member

  • PipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts
  • Joined: Dec-11 2004

Posted December 18 2006 - 11:42 PM

Thanx guys, gotta love this forum.
Sorry Jeff, not a working farm, although I do have a barn, a couple tractors, a horse, and a bunch of acres. Just my getaway in the mountains.


  • 0
  • -
WHAT A LooooooNG STRANGE TRIP IT'S BEEN !!!

#12 wilburpost

wilburpost
  • New Member

  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Joined: Jan-04 2007

Posted January 04 2007 - 10:35 PM

I've been running all propane for 15 years. We're on our second stove. If you have the manual it will tell you how to convert. One stove I had to flip over a button that pushed open the valve. The other stove I had to tighten(loosen?) a bolt. Not too hard. You should be able to get the info from the maker if you don't have it or try


  • 0
  • -

#13 ZacS

ZacS
  • 1,000 Post Club!

  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,592 posts
  • Joined: Jun-02 2005

Posted January 05 2007 - 5:35 PM

i was just stove shopping last weekend. for some reason there are some models that are not convertable to propane. most are, though.


  • 0
  • -